History | Organization | Mayor | Trustees | Committees | Taxes


The Mayor, also referred to as the Village President, directs the day-to-day operations of the Village. The various departments within the Village report to the President, who in turn reports to the Board of Trustees.

Mayor Henry Vicenik

A resident of Broadview since 1975, Illinois native Henry Vicenik was raised in nearby North Riverside. Vicenik was elected to serve as Broadview’s Mayor in 2000.

He began his career in public service in 1986 when he was appointed to the Civil Service Commission. In 1993, he was elected to serve on the Board of Trustees.

As Mayor of Broadview, Vicenik takes an active role in the day-to-day operations of the local government. This includes serving on the Metropolitan Mayor Caucus, the Economic Development Committee Task Force, the Finance Committee and the Legislative Committee of the West Central Municipal Conference. In addition, he serves as Chair of the West Cook Development Corporation, and is a member of the Board of Directors for Enterpriz Cook, the Board of Governors for the Boys and Girls Club, the Broadview Rotary and the Broadview Chamber of Commerce.

Mayoral History

The Village of Broadview has had eight Mayors since its incorporation in 1914. They are:

2000-Present    Henry Vicenik
1991-1999John R. Rodgers
1980-1991Emil J. Parkes
1937-1980Merritt E. Braga
1931-1937Forest Coburn
1922-1931William Evans
1918-1922Herman C. Berndt
1914-1918Jacob Mueller